Rio +20

ICLEI Rio +20

Distinguished Speakers

The Rio+20 Global Town Hall was a success! Check out our list of high-level speakers of our Cities Leadership Day 21 June 2012! For a program, please click here.

Konrad Otto-Zimmermann

Secretary General, ICLEI – Local Governments for Sustainability

Marcio Araujo Lacerda

Mayor of Belo Horizonte, Brazil  

Dieter Salomon

Mayor of Freiburg, Germany

Agnes Ntlangula

Executive Mayor of Sol Plaatje, South Africa

Pegeen Hanrahan

Former Mayor of Gainesville, Florida, USA

David Cadman

President, ICLEI – Local Governments for Sustainability

Martin Lees

Former Secretary General, Club of Rome

Jeb Brugmann

Urban Strategy Advisor(Founder of ICLEI, Managing Partner of The Next Practice, Senior Advisor tothe ICLEI Secretary General)

Ideli Salvatti

Minister of Institutional Relations, Brazil

Stian Berger Røsland

Governing Mayor of Oslo, Norway

Brittany Trilford

Date With History contest winner and Rio+20 youth speaker


Christiana Figueres

Executive Secretary, United Nations Climate Change Secretariat

Soogil Young

Chairman, Presidential Committee on Green Growth, Republic of South Korea

Ilmar Reepalu

Mayor of Malmö, Sweden, Chair of the ENVE Commission of the EUCommittee of the Regions

Asim Güzelbey

Mayor of Gaziantep,Turkey

Harry Hendriks

Senior Vice President and Global Head of Public & Government Affairs,Royal Philips Electronics

Lasse Gustavsson

Executive Director, Conservation, WWF International

Yunus Arikan

GreenClimateCities, ICLEI - Local Governments for Sustainability

Vivian Balakrishnan

Minister for Environment and Water Resources, Singapore

Ida Auken

Minister for the Environment, Denmark

Mercedes Bresso

President, EU Committee of the Regions

Marcelo Ebrard

Mayor of Mexico City, Mexico

Ban Ki-moon

Secretary General, United Nations 

James Nxumalo

Mayor of eThekwini Municipality (Durban), South Africa

Carlos Minc

Environmental Secretary, Rio State, Brazil

Richard Register

President, Ecocity Builders

Tong Yen Ho

Chief Executive Officer, Sino-Singapore Tianjin Eco-city, Investment andDevelopment Co., Ltd

João Coser

Mayor of Vitoria, President of the Brazilian National Front of Mayors (FNP)

Marianne Fay

Chief Economist for the Sustainable Development Network, World Bank

Philippe Joubert

Senior Advisor, World Business Council on Sustainable Development

Susanne Salz

Youth speaker

Fondation Charles Léopold Mayer